Estate Planning

What Is Community Property?

There are 9 community property states. They are AZ, CA, ID, LA, NV, NM, TX, WA, and WI. Each spouse is considered to own one half of the property acquired after marriage in a community property state. There is no right of survivorship in community property state. When one spouse dies, the other spouse does not automatically inherit the deceased spouse's share.

Note If you need professional help with "Estate Planning" or have other tax questions, we can help you find a local licensed CPA for a free, no-obligation consultation.